Booklearned asks,

Now Gamon Knows, the Old Gods are based on a series of books by H.P. Lovecraft. Don’t believe me? You can see for yourself on wikipedia. I am so smart and clever for noticing the connection first, (I first pointed it out when cthun was released, me). Now I don’t how much you’d be able to help, but a friend of mine and I are having an arguement. He seems to think that Yogg-Saron is based on the Outer God Yog-Sothoth, but I think he is actually based on Shub-Niggurath. Thoughts?

some_textHmmm…. have you ever considered finding a woman?

Seriously, I’m getting pretty tired of having to dodge these threads. Here’s my thoughts on the matter, as long as I get a fucking ear monster or something to fight in this expansion then I don’t care what he is.

You are not cool for debating the mythos of a talented fiction writer and how they compare to a tired plot in a video game. ‘Oh my God an Old God! Lets speculate on which one it could be!?!?!?’  I’ll tell you. Some dev at blizzard opened a wikipedia page and picked a name at random. There is no secret meaning.

And furthermore speculating about where they could be in Azeroth is not time well spent. ‘They’re in Tirisfal Glades and Darkshore! No now they’re not!? They’re in Vashj’ir and Twilight Highlands now? OMMMMMGGGG Blizzard tell us more! Cthulhu fhtagn!’

Okay Im being a dick. But I really think you need to stop being so impressed by this storyline. There really isn’t a lot of effort going into it.  Blizzard sits down at a 45 minute long meeting once every expansion and says, ‘okay heres the lore, theres an old god here, chogall is here, nefarion is back, and go’. Its not worth your time to research all this out because they simply aren’t trying and neither should you.

So how about instead of posting that two pages of speculation you go talk to your wife and kids huh? And if you don’t have a women then the time is better spent getting one. Because once you have sex, this really isn’t going to interest you anymore.

